Dr. Anand Deshpande

Anand Deshpande is the Founder, Chairman and Managing Director of Persistent Systems (BSE & NSE: PERSISTENT), a Company that he founded in 1990. Anand has a B. Tech (1984) in Computer Science and Engineering from IIT Kharagpur, a Masters (1986) and a Ph.D. (1989) in Computer Science from Indiana University, Bloomington (USA). Anand worked as MTS at Hewlett-Packard Laboratories in Palo Alto, California from 1989 to 1990.

At Persistent, he is responsible for overall leadership and management of the company and drives the sales and technology efforts. As an active member of the database community Anand was responsible for hosting VLDB 1996 in Mumbai and ICDE 2003 in Bangalore. He has actively participated in program committees of international conferences like member of Industrial Program Committee: VLDB 2003 in Berlin, VLDB 2004 in Toronto, IEEE 2005, ICDE 2005 in Tokyo, VLDB 2007 in Vienna; Program Committee Chair for Annual Convention CSI 2009 in Pune; General Chair for COMAD 2008 in Mumbai; Industrial Program Committee Chair for DASFAA 2008 in New Delhi; Organizing Committee Chair for ISEC 2009 in Pune; launched the ACM India Council, 2009.

Anand is also a member of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Institution of Engineers (India), Computer Society of India. He is currently a member of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) India Council as a Past President, member of the Executive Committee of NASSCOM, serves on the Board of Trustees of the Computer History Museum in Mountain View, California, serves on the Dean’s Advisory Council of the School of Informatics of Indiana University, is on the Executive Committee of MCCIA and is Chairman of the IT Committee of MCCIA. In the past, Anand was the President of SEAP from 2005-07 and Chairman of the Pune Chapter of CSI from 2003-05 and was the Chairman of CII, Pune Zonal council in 2009-10.

In recognition of his contribution to the Information Technology sector he was awarded the Entrepreneur Award at the Brihan Maharashtra Mandal Convention held in Atlanta, USA, 2005. He is the recipient of the CSI Fellowship Award in 2007 for outstanding achievement in the field of Information Technology. He was awarded the career achievement award of the School of Informatics at Indiana University, Bloomington in 2009 and serves on the Dean’s Advisory Council of the School of Informatics of Indiana University. He was awarded the IIT Kharagpur Distinguished Alumni Award in 2012.